It’s All New

Messy. 2016 was messy.

It was hard and painful, lonely and at times, grim. One thing I know I failed to do in 2016 was to thank God. To thank Him for the “just enough” provisions to get me through let alone the breath that allowed me to live that year, no matter how difficult at times it was to breathe. He’s deserving of so much more.

People like to choose a word at the beginning of every year and focus on it. Me? I just want to look up.

When things are messy, you’re typically looking down. Clutter and chaos around your feet. Tides of disasters at your ankles. Piles of heartache just a step ahead.

I love the stars. I always have. It’s the one thing that so easily brings me to focus on the grandeur of God and how He holds it all together. If I’m looking down I can’t see the stars. I can’t see the hope in the sunlight. I can’t see the acts of kindness on display across the street. I can’t see a warm smile from a friend.

If I’m looking down, all I see is myself and the dirt. I’m no better than blind. My next step could take me into a wall for all I know.

Looking up I see so much more. Better yet, looking up I can see the LORD and the great things He’s done for me even if my eyes fail to recognize as so at first.

I want to look up with new eyes, a perspective like His, and see things in a new light.

By looking up I can see the bigger picture and usually the bigger picture is far more spectacular than the little spot my eyes had been focusing on.

I know God’s up to something. I want to look up so I can see it when it happens. The only time I should look down is when I’m in His Word.

“Behold, I am doing a new thing; now it springs forth, do you not perceive it? I will make a way in the wilderness and rivers in the desert.” Isaiah 43:19 ESV

Leave a Reply

