Reflect On The Past

Right now the future is so cloudy. It is so uncertain, so unknown. It’s hard to see a path and where it may lead. It’s hard to tell if a door is open or locked shut.

When your life is filled with as much as unknown as mine, it is completely understandable if you are scared. It is understandable that you be asking “why” and “what” questions to God. I mean, really, what is going on? Why are certain things happening and others aren’t? Where do I look? Where do I go? What do I do?

It is hard to stand firm in confidence when you don’t know the foundation you are standing on or what you’re next step will be. I am so there with you!

“I will remember the deeds of the LORD; yes, I will remember Your miracles of long ago.” Psalm 77:11 NIV

“Your testimonies are my heritage forever, for they are the joy of my heart.” Psalm 119:111 ESV

When the next outcome is unclear, the next paycheck is unsure, it is then when we reflect on the past. Let us look and see, to remember and marvel at the things God has done. Scripture is the best way to do this. The Bible isn’t a storybook; it’s a history. It’s the history of how God created this world with His very breath and all the things He has done faithfully since then. His sparing His people from destruction. His provisions in the wilderness and desert. His redemptive love in the ultimate sacrifice. The stories that fill Scripture telling us of the wonders He has done are a testimony to us that God can be trusted, that He delights in His children, and will never lose His eternal victory.

I will give thanks to the LORD with my whole heart; I will recount all of Your wonderful deeds.” Psalm 9:1 ESV

“Let all that I am praise the LORD; may I never forget the good things He does for me.” Psalm 103:2 NLT

Look back on your own life. Look and see what good things He has done for you! Remember the times when God has protected and provided for you; how He has never failed to meet your needs. He has not abandoned you and He’s never once turned His face from you. You are prized and cherished.

Do you really believe He would give up on you – the very special creation He loves so much; who He willingly died for?

I know for me, God has spared me from death. He has spared me from pain. I still have experienced a deal of trials and tribulations, of struggles and heartache, but I can only imagine what more God kept me from. I know that even in my struggles God has provided just enough of what I needed for me to get through each month and each day. Doesn’t mean those days were easy. Goodness, no! But I made it through by His grace.

I don’t know what tomorrow holds for me. I don’t know what the rest of this month looks like. I am terrified to know. But this is when I need to remind myself that God has not left or forsaken me (Deuteronomy 31:6 & 8, Hebrews 13:5), that nothing that comes my way can snatch me from His grasp, and that I can face anything because my God, my risen LORD, lives in me and loves me.

“Don’t be afraid, for I am with you. Don’t be discouraged, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you. I will hold you up with My victorious right hand.” Isaiah 41:10 NLT

“Let us hold tightly without wavering to the hope we affirm, for God can be trusted to keep His promise.” Hebrews 10:23 NLT

“Then you will know that I am the LORD; those who hope in Me will not be disappointed.” Isaiah 49:23c NIV

We can reflect on His past goodness and faithfulness to see and know that He will be good and faithful for today and tomorrow. There is no room for fear in Christ. There is no reason to doubt. There is no space for worry. Come to Him, share your heart and concerns, and see that in Him we will thrive. We will endure and flourish no matter what the future holds.


Leave a Reply

