Gold Filled Beauty

I’m not much of a picture person. I really don’t like being in front of a camera. It’s not natural for me.

Something that pictures are wicked good at are reminding you of what was. They are snapshot memories that bring about a lot when looked upon. One of those is showing how different you were when it was taken.

I see photos of myself from high school, or even middle school, and although in some I know I was “happy” in, I personally see a lonely, broken girl. In ways I still am her. I know there’s a lot of work left in me to be done.

I’m like those cups. The ones that have been shattered but someone sees their beauty and puts them back together with gold, thus making them far more beautiful and valuable. It’s called kintsukuroi, a Japanese art of repairing broken pottery with gold lacquer. The artists believe that the piece is more beautiful because of it’s history and scars. This process ends up making the pottery of more value.

God says I’m both beautiful and valuable. And it is in the gold that’s putting me back together that you see Him.

He is who makes me far more beautiful and more capable than I ever could be on my own.

I’m still a broken vessel but I’m made whole, I’m made complete when I allow Him to come in and repair the damage done by sin; that sin being both mine and what others have done to me. God comes in and restores me. He restores me to the purpose I was made for, equipping me with what I need to be fully capable. Without Him there would be cracks and holes. I’d never be able to be fully full. But when God steps in, when He in over abundance fills my needs, I am able of so much more than I thought I could be because He is the strength that keeps me together.

“And He is before all things, and in Him all things hold together.” Colossians 1:17 ESV

“It feels strange, even wrong to believe He could find any value in my tarnished brokenness. But didn’t He, somehow? Didn’t He believe it was worth redeeming, renewing, resurrecting, to make it all into more than enough, in spite of my brokenness and through it? … Isn’t the cross a sign of Christ believing in us, believing the busted are to be believed in?” Ann Voskamp, The Broken Way

When the righteous cry for help, the LORD hears and delivers them out of all their troubles. The LORD is near to the brokenhearted and saves the crushed in spirit. Many are the afflictions of the righteous, but the LORD delivers him out of them all. He keeps his bones; not one of them is broken. … The LORD redeems the life of His servants; none of those who take refuge in Him will be condemned.” Psalm 34:17-20,22 ESV

So, I’m like those broken cups. Seemingly worthless when in a million pieces. But it’s when I’m put back together, letting God put me back together with His goodness and grace, mercy and forgiveness, love and strength, peace and wisdom, patience and compassion – it is then that I can measure up to what I was created for. He sees my potential, my underrated worth, and redeems me to the fullest so I can do what I was made for.


Leave a Reply

