What I’ve Learned: The Season Of Waiting

You ever waited for something and just got bored? Or got discouraged? Yeah, so have I. Actually, I’m there right now. I’ve been waiting (but actively searching and applying) for a job for two years. The past 3+ months I have been unemployed and some days it is agony. It’s hard to get up in the morning knowing it’s just another day of browsing the internet, hoping to find jobs I haven’t already applied for; it’s just another day of waiting. I don’t like it. I feel like I am wasting my life. Numerous days and months gone by without purpose. That’s how it feels anyways.

Back in March I submitted an application to be a guest devotion writer for an online community called Daughters of Delight. It’s a non-compensation, volunteer position, but I thought, “why not? It’ll prune my writing skills, gives me something to do, something to add to my resume to hopefully appear more appealing to employers.” I was accepted and began my 3 month stint.

You guys, I love writing. I’ve been writing since I was 13. I’m now in my mid-twenties. It started off with writing songs/poems and I journaled. I always had a knack for writing papers and loved my English courses in college. But when I went off to college I stopped writing outside of academia. I guess I just lost my muse, or for the first time my thoughts became jumbled and I couldn’t find words to say. Regardless of why, I just stopped.

When I came up with the idea for my first devotion with DoD, I thought about other topics I could write about and then – BAM! – I couldn’t stop. I was already writing short pieces on my Instagram so I decided why not start a blog so I can write in length. I have continued to write, practically daily.

When you are in the waiting, unsure of where to go and what to do, unsure of what God is doing, take control of your time by doing what you know you can do and trust in Him. For me, this has been writing and oh my goodness have the words been spilling out of me. I will have moments when I have 20+ drafts being started and worked on to publish on here. I have a handful of devotions ready for Daughter of Delight to post.

I still actively search every few days for new job postings to apply for but a lot of the time I spend writing. I don’t know what God is doing in my life. I don’t know why I can’t find work despite my obvious efforts. I don’t know what I am waiting for exactly, just that I am waiting. But I know that what I can do in this waiting time is to write His truth.

“But as for me, I watch in hope for the LORD, I wait for God my Savior; my God will hear me.” Micah 7:7 NIV

” ‘The LORD is my portion,” says my soul, “therefore I will hope in Him.’ The LORD is good to those who wait for Him, to the soul who seeks Him.” Lamentations 3:24-25 ESV

The season of waiting is no fun. (I’m sure I got a lot of southern Baptist “amens” with that one.) Waiting is hard, and it feels even more difficult when you’re waiting on something big (like a job) but you’re on someone else’s time clock (e.g. monthly student loan payments – gross). It’s tiring, it’s exhausting, and most of the time it’s discouraging. But thankfully the LORD sustains me in this time.

“Yet the LORD longs to be gracious to you; therefore He will rise up to show you compassion. For the LORD is a God of justice. Blessed are all who wait for Him!” Isaiah 30:18 NIV

“But they who wait for the LORD shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings like eagles; they shall run and not be weary; they shall walk and not faint.” Isaiah 40:31 ESV

“Waiting on God requires the willingness to bear uncertainty, to carry within oneself the unanswered question, lifting the heart to God about it whenever it intrudes upon one’s thoughts.” Elisabeth Elliot

Even though it’s a bit different, I think of waiting for a job like singleness. People can complain about their singleness, wishing themselves to be in a relationship and be married, but in your singleness you have so much freedom. You don’t have a dating relationship, fiance, or spouse to consume your time. For us as believers, singleness is a wonderful time to really focus on becoming a more devoted, godly follower of Christ. It allows you more time to be with God, to grow personally, and heck, just travel and do things solo.

In waiting for my job, I have a lot of freedom. I don’t have the 9-5 job five days a week that consumes my time. Do I know what to do with this time? Not really. With no car and a very limited amount of local friends (who are either married, in grad school, or have kids), I don’t get the chance to get out much so my days are pretty much wide open.

But the question is, what does God want me to do with this time of being unemployed? With this time of waiting? How will I be wise with it?

Although I am waiting for work, waiting for opportunities, for doors to be opened, I know I need to wait on the LORD. I need to be still and know He is God. He has a plan. He has a purpose for this season. Doesn’t make the reality any less difficult, but it gives me hope for the outcome.

“Since ancient times no one has heard, no ear has perceived, no eye has seen any God besides you, who acts on behalf of those who wait for Him.” Isaiah 64:4 NIV

“Wait patiently for the LORD. Be brave and courageous. Yes, wait patiently for the LORD.” Psalm 27:14 NLT

“To love God is to love His will. It is to wait quietly for life to be measured by One who knows us through and through. It is to be content with His timing and His wise appointment.” Elisabeth Elliot

His timing certainly isn’t something we understand. God is not bound by time as we are so His timing definitely doesn’t look the same as our 12 hour clock, 24 hour days, 7 days a week, 52 weeks a year. He is wise. He is good. Even if it may appear in the nick of time for me, I know things will happen in His divine moment. He knows how things will work out and when is the best hour, the best minute even, for things to happen.

“I am sure that God keeps no one waiting unless He sees that it is good for him to wait.” CS Lewis

He knows the outcome. He knows what may be just around the corner or several yards ahead. For me to not know can make me anxious and even afraid, but to know that God knows gives me comfort, hope, and security. I know His plans are never to harm me, but are always for the best. If that means waiting for His ultimate best for me rather than something only half-great, I’d rather wait. I know I can trust Him.

“But if we hope for what we do not yet have, we wait for it patiently.” Romans 8:25 NIV

“For all of the waiting: You’re going to be alright. Even on the days of “I’ve had enough” and “I can’t wait any longer,” by the grace of God, you are going to be alright. Everything won’t always work out the way you think it will, but it will always work out according to God’s will, because it is only what He wills that will last. Find peace in knowing that.” Morgan Harper Nichols

Leave a Reply

