He Writes Our Story

God is pretty fantastic. Actually, human words cannot describe how great He is. One of the characteristics I love the most about Him is being the Author of my life; the One who is in-control and can change my life in radical ways I cannot imagine.

“God is a brilliant storyteller and His plot twists only gets better as we walk in faith with Him. In this, we see that every life pieces together God’s most brilliant collection of stories. The stories that He is proudly displaying in humanity.” Lauren Bruhn

He’s wicked creative. He’s perfectly strategic. God knows where and when to choreograph things to happen – people to meet, opportunities to open, provisions to land in our laps. Our stories are just a reflection of His goodness to His people. They are a testimony to His character.

“It is the LORD who goes before you. He will be with you; He will not leave you or forsake you. Do not fear or be dismayed.” Deuteronomy 31:8 ESV

“I am the Alpha and the Omega–the beginning and the end,” says the LORD God. “I am the One who is, who always was, and who is still to come–the Almighty One.” Revelation 1:8 NLT

The thing about any author of any book is that they know the end. They know the whole story, from start to finish. God is the Author of our lives. He was there at the beginning, He is here in the now, and is there at the end. God has gone before us and written our story out in accordance to His will. We have no reason to fear our future. He has not designed for harm to come our way; God is not wired like that. This world isn’t perfect so neither will be your life, but He does have His divine appointments and holy protection ready for you where they are needed.

“You may believe in God, but never forget – it’s God who believes in you. Every morning that the sun rises and you get to rise? That’s God saying He believes in you, that He believes in the story He’s writing through you. He believes in you as a gift the world needs.” Ann Voskamp, The Broken Way

I absolutely love that quote. God believes in me. That’s why I am alive. That’s why He is writing my life. He knows what I am capable of more so than I am, and with His infinite knowledge and His eternal sight, He is writing my story in a way that I can use my talents and abilities to reach people with His truth. My life is for His glory.

It is such a humbling privilege knowing that even in my brokenness, that in spite of my limited and weak humanity, God sees me fit to be a part of the story He is writing.

“You have turned my mourning into joyful dancing. You have taken away my clothes of mourning and clothed me with joy,” Psalm 30:11 NLT

“And I will give you a new heart, and I will put a new spirit in you. I will take out your stony, stubborn heart and give you a tender, responsive heart.” Ezekiel 36:26 NLT

God is a God of transformation. When reading a book, typically the protagonist ends up going through some sort of transformation; they noticeably change from the first page to the last page. We are humans, we will change – our likes, dislikes, appearance, voice, opinions – but God can also change us. He writes a new story in our hearts. He removes the storyline of pain and sorrow to a plot of joy and gratitude. He erases the anger and jealousy, and pens in love and connection. He fills the emptiness and loneliness with His abundant, satisfying Self. He shifts our eyes from worthless things to that which is lovely, healthy, and godly. God gives us our purpose. He places us where He wants us in His story, where He knows we will have the most impact.

“Of one thing I am perfectly sure: God’s story never ends with ‘ashes’.” Elisabeth Elliot

If you feel like your life is falling apart, God’s not finished. Any protagonist experiences some sort of trial, some form of challenge and obstacle, but what lies beyond it makes the struggle worth it. God does not leave our stories in heaps of dirt. We are not left in chaos, but it is part of the journey; part of the story playing out in an imperfect world. It is so worth it to trust God to write your story instead of trying to write it yourself. You’ll never know what He can do unless you trust Him; unless you let Him transform you and write your story.

“He is always doing something–the very best thing, the thing we ourselves would certainly choose if we knew the end from the beginning. He is at work to bring us to our full glory.” Elisabeth Elliot

Your story is far from over. There’s so much more coming in the chapters ahead.


Leave a Reply

