Favorites: Scripture

Scripture is a wonderful thing. It’s a powerful thing. It’s truth in it’s rawest form – straight from the mouth of God. The Bible is divinely inspired by our LORD (2 Timothy 3:16). And though every word was ordained to be in it, some just have a way of speaking to your heart more so than others. It’s alive, according to Hebrews 4:12. One day you’ll read a passage without it’s weight being revealed to you but another day you’ll read it, and it will hit your heart like a brick or touch your soul in utter tenderness.

So today I am sharing with you just a few of my favorite Scripture. Some have been my favorites for years, and others more recently.

” ‘I made a covenant with you,’ says the Sovereign LORD, ‘and you became Mine.’ ” Ezekiel 16:8c NLT

I don’t recall how I first came across the passage above but to me it is a beautiful truth. Having experienced a great deal of rejection, this has spoken to me every time I read it since the first time. The fact that God made a covenant – a commitment; promise; bond; an agreement that brings about a relationship of commitment between God and His people – with me and calls me His has so much depth to it. I am His. Forget what the rest of the world says, I am forever the LORD’s.

“Behold, I am doing a new thing; now it springs forth, do you not perceive it? I will make a way in the wilderness and rivers in the desert.” Isaiah 43:19 ESV

I was working a temp-job at a Christian non-profit when my floor manager used this in her devotion before work began one day. I was in a very heavy place: unknown future of employment, lack of finances, a health scare with a family member, no church home or community. It seemed like I had nothing before me. I was wandering in the wilderness, stuck in a desert, and so when I heard this verse, I realized that it doesn’t matter my circumstances that I can see – God has a beautiful way of just showing up. In the impossible He makes it possible. In the dark He shines a light. He is always working for my good and in due time, I will get the chance to see it. I may still have to stay in the wilderness and/or desert a little while longer, but at least then I can begin to see what God is doing because He will provide what I need in my most desperate times.

“Then you will know that I am the LORD; those who hope in Me will not be disappointed.” Isaiah 49:23a NIV

Here we find God showcasing His confidence in what He can do and will do in the lives of those who follow after Him. And for good reason! God does not abandon His beloved children. We can know without a doubt that God is forever good; that what He does in our lives is always the best for us, leaving us in awe of who He truly is. He knows how to meet the deepest needs that we ourselves are not even aware of. You can’t be disappointed in the One who fills in abundance the holes you never knew you had.

“You shall see, and your heart shall rejoice; your bones shall flourish like the grass; and the hand of the LORD shall be known to His servants,” Isaiah 66:14 ESV

I recently came across this verse and loved it. It’s a verse of restoration; that I will flourish and rejoice. I “shall see” and “the hand of the LORD shall be known.” He is working in my life and I will see it. And when I do, it will surely be something to rejoice over.

“But then I will win her back once again. I will lead her into the desert and speak tenderly to her there. I will return her vineyards to her and transform the Valley of Trouble into a gateway of hope.” Hosea 2:14-15a NLT

Sometimes we are brought into the wilderness and/or desert for a reason. But regardless of why, God is still with us in those seasons. The best part? God will “transform the Valley of Trouble into a gateway of hope.” He can change our circumstances. He can perform miracles in our lives. He is compassionate and cares for us, and after a little while, He displays His power.

“So God has given both His promise and His oath. These two things are unchangeable because it is impossible for God to lie. Therefore, we who have fled to Him for refuge can have great confidence as we hold to the hope that lies before us.” Hebrews 6:18 NLT

This verse reminds me of God’s faithfulness and reliability. He cannot break His promises. He is unable to lie. Because of His steadfastness, we have a firm hope and can have such confidence in knowing this is who He is.

“Let us hold tightly without wavering to the hope we affirm, for God can be trusted to keep His promise.” Hebrews 10:23 NLT

Similar to the verse above, we can have a strong hope knowing that God can and will keep His promises to us. His Word is not empty or void.

“But we are not of those who shrink back and are destroyed, but of those who have faith and preserve their souls.” Hebrews 10:39 ESV

This to me is a verse of confidence. Rather than to give up hope and fade, but to keep on having faith, trusting in God, and continuing forward.

“Dear friends, do not be surprised by the painful trial you are suffering, as though something strange were happening to you. But rejoice that you participate in the sufferings of Christ, so that you may be overjoyed when His glory is revealed.” 1 Peter 4:12-13

When I found this verse, it was a Russian Roulette maneuver. I was sixteen and had just found out that morning that a friend of mine for many years, probably around a decade at that point, was spontaneously given 48 hours to live. In my sorrow and confusion, after writing my thoughts out, I grabbed a book, which had nothing to do with pain or suffering, and turned to the back where the author had several pages of Scripture. When I opened it, the top of the page said Suffering and though there were other verses on the page, this was the only one I saw. I have broken this verse down many times and I love it for so many reasons. It’s been one I’ve clung to all these eight years later. Peter writes as someone who completely sympathizes, reminds us that our suffering is not uncommon, but that no matter what, we will see God’s glory through it every time, and that is reason to celebrate.

Like I’ve said, these are just a few of the ones I love and that have deeply spoken to me. I hope you have Scriptures that have simply been profound in your life, no matter how you’ve come across them. I encourage you to surround yourself with His Word, memorize and reflect on them throughout the day, so that when lies or trials come up, you have Truth to help you through.

Scripture offers so much hope. It has so much life in it. It possess such power.

The reason why it touches us where we are is because it is God’s Word. When you read it, it’s Him sharing Truth to your heart and soul.


Leave a Reply

