We Like Wildflowers

Some days I feel like God’s forgotten about me. I feel unseen, if not ignored. Some days I feel like I’m not worthy of anything. On those days, that’s when I need to yell “enough in the name of Jesus” to the devil for feeding those lies into my heart. That’s when I desperately need to consume truth; a starving soul devouring all that is good and healthy and true.

“And if God cares so wonderfully for wildflowers that are here today and thrown into the fire tomorrow, He will certainly care for you. Why do you have so little faith?” Matthew 6:30 NLT

Perspective is a funny thing. Just the slightest shift can change a view drastically. Most of us would probably admit that we overlook wildflowers. Sometimes they look like weeds. Sometimes we just don’t care to even look. Nonetheless, they are still a work of art created by our God. He cares for them. Does He not feed them with sunlight? Does He not satisfy their thirst with rain? They are here today and gone the next, but God still provides for their needs. Does He not do the same for us?

And my God will meet all your needs according to the riches of His glory in Christ Jesus.” Philippians 4:19 NIV

Did you catch that – God will meet all our needs. All of them. I know, believe me I know, there are plenty of times when it certainly doesn’t feel like He is. We live in a culture of over-indulgence; one that has all the wants and gimmes, and to have them now. God doesn’t work like that. He will not over-indulge us. He isn’t Santa and gives out all your wants. He doesn’t take demands and orders like He’s working a drive-thru window. He doesn’t have timing like ours – that is a guarantee. What God does is take a giant step further into seeing the true needs of our hearts. He knows we have physical needs that have to be met, but He also knows that the truest needs of our hearts are the ones with the deepest longings that only He can satisfy.

“The LORD will guide you always; He will satisfy your needs in a sun-scorched land and will strengthen your frame. You will be like a well-watered garden, like a spring whose waters never fail.” Isaiah 58:11 NIV

“For He satisfies the longing soul, and the hungry soul He fills with good things.” Psalm 107:9 ESV

“You open Your hand; You satisfy the desire of every living thing.” Psalm 145:6 ESV

I know what my physical needs are, not just in terms of my physical body (food, water, sleep) but the tangible needs (financial provisions, shelter), but I am not always aware of the more internal needs, the deepest ones I have. That’s where God comes in. He provides everything I need in thorough fulfillment. In Him, I have no wants and I have no needs. He is everything. “He satisfies the longing soul.” My greatest needs are the greatest voids that occupy my heart and soul; they are the longings that are only quenched by God Himself.

God sees beyond the surface to the very core of who I am, what I desperately lack, and fills me to the very brim with Himself.

“For He knows how weak we are; He remembers we are only dust. Our days on earth are like grass; like wildflowers, we bloom and die. The wind blows, and we are gone–as though we had never been here. But the love of the LORD remains forever with those who fear Him.” Psalm 103:14-17a NLT

If God tends to and cares for the wildflowers that are here today and gone tomorrow, He certainly does tend to and cares for you. He cares for me. We are like wildflowers – here today and gone the next. Just a brief vapor in all of time. But even in our temporary lifespan, God cares enough to meet all our needs. His way of meeting them never ends up being what we expected and what we think we wanted, but it always ends up better because the fulfillment isn’t temporary, it’s eternal.


Leave a Reply

