What I’ve Learned: To Be Still & Know

I heard once that if you’ve already prayed about something, you needn’t worry about it. I’ve prayed many prayers that are alike these past few years, filled with the same requests. (I wonder if God ever gets tired of hearing the same thing, as in the same prayer, over and over again?)

“Be still and know that I am God!” Psalm 46:10a NLT

I suppose this is where “be still and know” comes in. I’ve prayed about my concerns, lifted them to the Almighty’s hands, and now, I must be still and know. I need to rest in trust and confidence that He is God; that He has heard me and is in-control, and that He is doing a new thing in my life even if I can’t see it.

Being still doesn’t change my circumstances, but it does change my heart and spirit.

Those concerns are still very real, but I can be at peace knowing that they’re in God’s more than capable hands. Trusting in His timing, now that’s something I’m really having to work on. Being still and knowing He is God is doing just that: it’s trusting in God. He is good. He is faithful. He is trustworthy, in everything.

“For You are God, O Sovereign LORD. Your words are truth, and You have promised these good things to Your servant.” 2 Samuel 7:28 NLT

“But I am trusting You, O LORD, saying, ‘You are my God!’ ” Psalm 31:14 NLT

“This I declare about the LORD: He alone is my refuge, my place of safety; He is my God, and I trust Him.” Psalm 91:2 NLT

“The LORD is trustworthy in all His promises and faithful in all He does.” Psalm 145:13b NIV

I know that my requests, my concerns, could never be in better hands. I know that my life is most safe when laid willingly at His feet, saying, “God, do Your thing. You are YHWH. I know that I have no reason to doubt You,” because He is God. He wants to hear my requests and concerns, to come to His feet willingly with trust and faith.

“Give your burdens to the LORD, and He will take care of you. He will not permit the godly to slip and fall.” Psalm 55:22 NLT

“Trust in Him at all times, O people; pour out your heart before Him; God is a refuge for us.” Psalm 62:8 ESV

“Cast all your anxiety on Him because He cares for you.” 1 Peter 5:7 NIV

I know some days you can feel like a mad person running around everywhere, with a disheveled appearance, kind of like an absent-minded professor. I know some days, though everything appears calm and collected on the outside, inwardly your mind is racing with a million thoughts, your heart skips beats with anxiety and fear, and you’re simply overwhelmed. I’ve been there in both scenarios, but far more often in the latter. Right now in life I may seem calm. I may see laid back, just straight chilling. I have no obligations, no social circles, no appointments or deadlines. But inwardly, my heart is beyond anxious. My mind never stops trying to figure out solutions to my problems. My eyes feed my brain loads of information as I spend my days looking at job postings on the internet, with an exhausted spirit hopeful that maybe finally one of these days I’ll get an offer.

I’m not at peace. I’m not at rest. And honestly, I’m more consciously than not keeping myself like this. I’m not seeking rest to satisfy my tiredness. I’m not looking for contentment. I’m not turning to God, really giving Him my concerns, and perhaps, I’m not truly accepting His peace and rest. I’m not choosing to be still and know. We can be cool, calm, and collected, or we can be maniacs looking like we’ve spent the past 72 hours running a marathon while grocery shopping, feeding kids, or finishing assignments. But no matter your outward state, it’s the inside that matters.

What’s going on inside either fuels or drains you.

“Yes, my soul, find rest in God; my hope comes from Him.” Psalm 62:5 NIV

“For I will satisfy the weary soul, and every languishing soul I will replenish.” Jeremiah 31:25 ESV

“He gives strength to the weary and increases the power of the weak.” Isaiah 40:29 NIV

“Then Jesus said, ‘Come to Me, all of you who are weary and carry heavy burdens, and I will give you rest.’ ” Matthew 11:28 NLT

Choose to rest. Actively posture yourself in the arms of our greatest Comforter, and let your heart, soul, mind, and body be at ease. Truly trust His supremacy and ability to provide. Rest in His goodness. Find peace knowing He’s in control. Just be still in your heart and know He is God. This is something I have to purposefully practice too, but I know it’s worth it because I need it and only God Himself can satisfy, replenish, and strengthen me in the ways that are needed.

Let your rest in Christ be what determines your day, not your to-do lists.

“I know the LORD is always with me. I will not be shaken, for He is right beside me. No wonder my heart is glad, and I rejoice. My body rests in safety.” Psalm 16:9 NLT

“The LORD gives strength to His people; the LORD blesses His people with peace.” Psalm 29:11 NIV

“So we do not lose heart. Though our outer self is wasting away, our inner self is being renewed day by day.” 2 Corinthians 4:16 ESV


 

Leave a comment